A New Definition of Pin-Up: Katy Perry

With all of Lady Gaga’s  outlandish costumes these days, Katy Perry’s once controversial outfits no longer seem strange in comparison.  Perhaps it’s because of this, that we can look at her style in a new light.  I’ve always appreciated her music from I Kissed a Girl to Hot N’ Cold to her almost-ballad Thinking of You, but now her unique style is what gets me. :)

I’ve recently come across her short interview in the December 2008/January 2009 issue (a while back, I know) of seventeen magazine.  She was awarded one of 2008’s 17 style stars, and I’ve transcribed the interview below.

17: Where do you go to get a good bargain?
Katy Perry: I never feel right about buying things that are more than $150 (honestly, how many stars can say that?).  I shop at Forever 21 (:applauds to self:) and get things like skirts that I can pair with something vintage I already have.

17: What 2008 trend do you wish would just die?
Katy Perry: I don’t really care for the Ed Hardy/Von Dutch look.  It’s worn-out, cheesy, and a bit trashy (I full-heartedly agree, Katy).

17: When you open your closet, what do you see?
Katy Perry: A tornado of fabulousness and rainbow colors.

She seems like such a down-to-earth girl.  Here are some of my favorite looks from her:

Such a cute belt, @_@.

Such a cute belt, @_@.

No one does a floral dress like Katy. :)

No one does a floral dress like Katy. :)

Nautical and adorable.

Nautical and adorable.

Her famous pin-up look.

Her famous pin-up look.

Pretty in Pink.

Pretty in Pink.

Love Katy’s style just as much as I do?  Check here how you can get the Katy-inspired items below.

Katy's style on a bargain!

Katy's style on a bargain!

That’s all on Katy for now.  Good news is my Urban Outfitters loot should be coming in a couple of days.  I promise some pictures soon! :)
Love, Phebe

Leave a comment

Filed under Style Watch

Leave a Reply

